I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.jpg

‘When people fall in love they burst into flames’

A powerful novel that absorbs the reader completely into the emotions experienced as a result of family tragedy, loss, first loves and true friendships. 

Jude and Noah are incredibly close twins, only a few hours apart. When they were thirteen, Noah was quiet- always drawing and recklessly falling in love with the boy next door. But that was fine because Jude would always talk for him, while she jumped off cliffs and hooked up with boys behind park sheds. Then something changed. At sixteen, Jude is drowning in her mother’s hatred and can’t remember the last time she talked to Noah without fighting...that’s until she meets a charismatic boy and a nutty artist. If Noah and Jude could tell the truth, the whole dark truth, maybe they’d realise even while they screwed up they always had each other.  

This novel requires the readers to throw themselves in headfirst; it is not a normal teen romance its abstract and crazy, these are two children who trade the sun after all, but in that way it is utterly engaging. In fact, the true achievement of this novel is that it uses the crazy imagination of the two protagonists and the wild stories they create to poignantly reflect everyday truths. 

Perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan
Recommended 12+
Rating 9/10

Reviewed by Katie McGregor