Costa Book Awards shortlists 2017


The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year.

Dominic Paul, managing director of Costa, says: ‘These shortlists are a showcase of everything the Costa book awards celebrate: terrific books with broad appeal that will be enjoyed by readers of all tastes.’

Here are the shortlistees in each category.


  • Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor
  • Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney
  • Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie
  • Tin Man by Sarah Winman

First novel

  • The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks
  • Montpelier Parade by Karl Geary
  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
  • The Haunting of Henry Twist by Rebecca F John


  • Once Upon a Time in the East: A Story of Growing Up by Xiaolu Guo
  • A Bold and Dangerous Family: The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini by Caroline Moorehead
  • In the Days of Rain by Rebecca Stott
  • Fragile Lives: A Heart Surgeon’s Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table by Stephen Westaby


  • Kumukanda by Kayo Chingonyi
  • Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore
  • On Balance by Sinéad Morrissey
  • Useful Verses by Richard Osmond

Children’s books

  • Moonrise by Sarah Crossan
  • Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans
  • The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  • The Explorer by Katherine Rundell

The category winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 2 January, 2018, and the overall winner will be revealed on 30 January, 2018. Read more about the Costa book awards here.