The winners of the 2017 Prime Minister's Literary Awards have been announced!

pm awards photo.jpg

Shortlisted authors, illustrators, judges and invited guests gathered at Parliament House in Canberra today where this year’s winners were announced by Minister for the Arts, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield.

Acknowledging the extraordinary contributions literature makes to Australia’s cultural and intellectual landscape, the Minister thanked the 15 judges who had the enormous task of considering more than 450 entries and congratulated the winners and shortlistees.

The winners are:

FICTION: Their Brilliant Careers, Ryan O’Neill

POETRY: Headwaters, Anthony Lawrence

NON-FICTION: Quicksilver, Nicolas Rothwell

AUSTRALIAN HISTORY: Atomic Thunder: The Maralinga Story, Elizabeth Tynan

YOUNG ADULT: Words in Deep Blue, Cath Crowley

CHILDREN’S – JOINT WINNERS: Dragonfly Song, Wendy Orr and Home in the Rain, Bob Graham