Shortlist Announced for the 2018 Stella Prize


On International Women’s Day, the Stella Prize is delighted to announce the six extraordinary books by Australian women on the 2018 Stella Prize shortlist.

The 2018 Stella Prize shortlist is:

  • The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree by Shokoofeh Azar (Fiction, Wild Dingo Press)
  • Terra Nullius by Claire G. Coleman (Fiction, Hachette Australia)
  • The Life to Come by Michelle de Krestser (Fiction, Allen & Unwin)
  • An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen (Fiction, Text Publishing)
  • The Fish Girl by Mirandi Riwoe (Novella, Seizure)
  • Tracker by Alexis Wright (Non-Fiction, Giramondo) 

Fiona Stager, chair of the 2018 judging panel, says:
“The six titles shortlisted for the 2018 Stella Prize showcase the incredible breadth of talent in the writing by women in Australia today. The personal interweaves seamlessly with the political as these authors investigate the past, examine the present and re-imagine our future. Ideas about family, identity in all its forms, and politics at both its most profound and intimate levels are themes that connect these six diverse, engaging and original books.”