Longlists Announced for the 2018 Kibble and Dobbie Awards

The longlists for the 2018 Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards have been announced.

The Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards are open to Australian female writers who have published a book of fiction or non-fiction classifiable as ‘life writing’. The awards moved to a biennial format in 2016, making the 2018 awards open to any work published in the last two years.

The eight longlisted titles for the $30,000 Nita B Kibble Literary Award for an established author are:

  • Mirror Sydney by Vanessa Berry
  • The Enigmatic Mr Deakin by Judith Brett
  • The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke
  • Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner
  • The Life to Come by Michelle de Kretser
  • The Choke by Sofie Laguna
  • The High Places by Fiona McFarlane
  • The Media and the Massacre by Sonya Voumard

The eight longlisted titles for the $5000 Dobbie Literary Award for a first-time published author are:

  • Australia Day by Melanie Cheng
  • Troppo by Madelaine Dickie
  • Our Magic Hour by Jennifer Down
  • Things That Helped by Jessica Friedmann
  • The Permanent Resident by Roanna Gonsalves
  • Driftwood by Eva De Jong-Duldig
  • The Trauma Cleaner by Sarah Krasnostein
  • The Healing Party by Micheline Lee

The shortlists will be announced in June. For more information about the Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards, click here.