Walter Scott Prize Longlist Announced


The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, now in its tenth year, has just announced the 2019 Longlist.

The Longlist of twelve is:

Little by Edward Carey (Gallic Books)

A Long Way From Home by Peter Carey (Faber)

After The Party by Cressida Connolly (Viking)

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan (Serpent’s Tail)

The Western Wind by Samantha Harvey (Jonathan Cape)

Dark Water by Elizabeth Lowry (riverrun)

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free by Andrew Miller (Sceptre)

Warlight by Michael Ondaatje (Jonathan Cape)

The Wanderers by Tim Pears (Bloomsbury)

The Long Take by Robin Robertson (Picador)

All The Lives We Never Lived by Anuradha Roy (Maclehose Press)

Tombland by C J Sansom (Mantle)

The Judges said:

“Since its founding in 2009, the Walter Scott Prize has grown in standing and is now a trusted kitemark for the very best historical fiction from the UK and Ireland, as well as a platform from which to introduce exciting voices from the Commonwealth.

“Our tenth longlist features wonderful stories from both the recent and distant past, with diverse settings; from jostling cities and insular villages to vast open spaces and wild oceans. We meet some unforgettable characters – an Australian long-distance rally driver; a diminutive Swiss orphan who becomes Madame Tussaud; a middle-class English housewife caught up in Oswald Mosley’s fascist movement; a young man ‘freed’ from slavery on a journey across the globe. Choosing a shortlist from these corkers is going to be a tough task for the judges.”