Miles Franklin Literary Award 2019 Longlist Announced


Miles Franklin Literary Award 2019 Longlist Announced!

Established in 1957 with funds from an unexpected bequest from the My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin‘s will, stipulated that: “the prize shall be awarded for the Novel for the year which is of the highest literary merit and which must present Australian Life in any of its phases.” 

The winner of the 2019 award will receive $60,000 in prize money.

The full longlist reads as follows:

  • Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton

  • Flames by Robbie Arnott

  • The Lebs by Michael Mohammed Ahmad

  • A Sand Archive by Gregory Day

  • Inappropriation by Lexi Freiman

  • A Stolen Season by Rodney Hall

  • The Death of Noah Glass by Gail Jones

  • Too Much Lip by Melissa Lucashenko

  • Dyschronia by Jennifer Mills

  • The Lucky Galah by Tracy Sorensen

A shortlist will be announced on July 2nd, with the winner named on July 30th.