Miles Franklin Literary Award Winner 2019: Melissa Lucashenko, for Too Much Lip


Australia’s most prestigious literary award, the Miles Franklin, has been awarded to acclaimed Indigenous novelist Melissa Lucashenko for Too Much Lip, published by University of Queensland Press. 

In a year when the shortlist showcased a diverse and exciting range of Australian voices, experiences and narrative forms, Too Much Lip lays open the wounds of generational trauma and the restorative power of country, culture and belonging.  

Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author Miles Franklin for the “advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature”, the Miles Franklin Literary Award recognises the novel of “the highest literary merit” which presents “Australian life in any of its phases”. Perpetual, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, is proud to be part of this literary legacy.  

Since 1957, the award has provided more than $1.2 million to Australian authors.  

Ms Lucashenko will receive $60,000 in prize money. 

Lucashenko’s work was chosen from a shortlist featuring a mix of emerging and established writers, including past winner Rodney Hall for A Stolen Season; three time nominee Gail Jones for The Death of Noah Glass; and firsttime nominees Michael Mohammed Ahmad for The Lebs, Gregory Day for A Sand Archive, and Jennifer Mills for Dyschronia. 
Ms Lucashenko, who has also been previously longlisted for the Miles Franklin, said of her win: “It’s kind of terrifying. I only recently realised that I could be doing so much more in my writing and now this goes and happens. I have no idea what to do next, other than keep plugging away at my civilising mission to mainstream Australia.” 

For more information go to